Board of Directors

The Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT) Board of Directors (board) selects ERCOT’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), sets overall goals, and guides our direction. The board oversees major functions of ERCOT: open access to the transmission grid on nondiscriminatory terms, system reliability and adequacy, and the retail and wholesale electric markets.  The 12-member board consists of eight directors who are appointed by the State of Texas’ ERCOT Board Selection Committee and who are required by law to not have fiduciary duty or assets in the electricity market for the ERCOT Region, and four ex officio members: the CEO of ERCOT (non-voting), the Public Counsel of the Office of Public Utility Counsel (OPUC), the Chair of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) (non-voting), and a PUCT Commissioner designated by the PUCT Chair (non-voting).  All board members are Texas residents.

Our Board Members

Have a question or need help?

Question? Contact Us