

**Date:** February 21, 2023 **To:** Board of Directors

From: Peggy Heeg, Human Resources and Governance (HR&G) Committee

Chair

**Subject:** Election of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Ratification of Officers of

**ERCOT** 

### **Issue for the ERCOT Board of Directors**

**ERCOT Board of Directors Meeting Date:** February 28, 2023

**Item No.:** 11.2

#### Issue:

Election of the CEO and ratification of Officers of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT).

#### **Background/History:**

Sections 8.2 and 4.10(c) of the Amended and Restated Bylaws of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (Bylaws) requires that the ERCOT Board of Directors (Board) elect the CEO of ERCOT and ratify the remaining ERCOT Officers for terms not to exceed one year. Section 8.2 further provides that officers may be re-elected or reratified for consecutive terms without limitation and that all officers shall hold office until their successors are chosen and qualified or until their earlier resignation or removal. Section 7.1 of the Bylaws provides in part that "[t]he CEO shall serve as President of ERCOT."

At its meeting on February 27, 2023, the HR&G Committee will consider the election of CEO and ratification of Officers as recommended by Pablo Vegas, ERCOT President and CEO.

#### **Key Factors Influencing Issue:**

- The Bylaws require the election of the ERCOT CEO and ratification of Officers at least annually.
- ERCOT must have a CEO and Officers to perform its statutory and corporate functions.

#### Conclusion/Recommendation:

The HR&G Committee will consider recommending whether, at its February 28, 2023 Board meeting, the Board should elect Pablo Vegas as President and CEO of ERCOT, while employed for a term not to exceed one year, and should ratify the following ERCOT Officers for the 2023 year, while employed for a term not to exceed one year:

Senior Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer and Chief of Staff – Jeyant Tamby;



Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary – Chad V. Seely;

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer – Sean Taylor;

Vice President and Chief Information Officer – Jayapal Parakkuth;

Vice President, Commercial Operations – Kenan Ögelman;

Vice President, Corporate Strategy and PUC Relations – Kristi Hobbs;

Vice President, Human Resources – Mara Spak;

Vice President, Public Affairs – Robert Black;

Vice President, Security & Compliance and Chief Compliance Officer – Betty Day;

Vice President, System Operations – Dan Woodfin;

Vice President, System Planning and Weatherization – Woody Rickerson; and Assistant General Counsel and Assistant Corporate Secretary – Jonathan Levine.



# ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC. BOARD OF DIRECTORS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, pursuant to Sections 8.2 and 4.10(c) of the *Amended and Restated Bylaws* of *Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc.* (Bylaws), the Board of Directors (Board) of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT) shall elect the ERCOT Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and ratify other ERCOT Officers for a term while employed not to exceed one year;

WHEREAS, Section 7.1 of the Bylaws provides in part that the ERCOT CEO shall serve as President of ERCOT; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it desirable and in the best interest of ERCOT to elect a President and CEO and ratify other ERCOT Officers for the 2023 year for a term while employed not to exceed one year

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Board hereby elects Pablo Vegas to serve as ERCOT President and CEO for a term while employed not to exceed one year; and

RESOLVED FURTHER, the Board hereby ratifies the following other ERCOT Officers for the 2023 year for a term while employed not to exceed one year:

Senior Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer and Chief of Staff – Jeyant Tamby;

Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary – Chad V. Seely;

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer – Sean Taylor;

Vice President and Chief Information Officer – Jayapal Parakkuth;

Vice President, Commercial Operations – Kenan Ögelman;

Vice President, Corporate Strategy and PUC Relations – Kristi Hobbs;

Vice President, Human Resources – Mara Spak;

Vice President, Public Affairs – Robert Black;

Vice President, Security & Compliance and Chief Compliance Officer – Betty Day;

Vice President, System Operations – Dan Woodfin

Vice President, System Planning and Weatherization – Woody Rickerson; and

Assistant General Counsel and Assistant Corporate Secretary – Jonathan Levine.



## **CORPORATE SECRETARY'S CERTIFICATE**

I, Jonathan M. Levine, Assistant Corporate Secretary of ERCOT, do hereby certify at its February 28, 2023 meeting, the Board passed a motion approving the Resolution by	,
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this day of February, 2	2023.
Jonathan M. Levine Assistant Corporate Secretary	