

Item 5: CEO Update

Brad Jones
Interim President and Chief Executive Officer

Board of Directors Meeting

ERCOT Public August 16, 2022

July 2022 Conservation Summary

- July 10: ERCOT issued a Conservation Appeal release asking Texans to reduce energy use on July 11 in tandem with the issuance of a Watch
- July 13: ERCOT issued a second release asking for further conservation and deployed ERS and Voltage Reduction.
- Tight conditions were caused by unseasonably hot weather driving record demand and lower than expected wind production.
- ERCOT maintained close contact with market participants, PUC, legislative leadership and other critical stakeholders throughout the hot weather event



July 2022 Conservation Summary (cont.)

- Texans voluntarily reduced electric demand after each Conservation Appeal was issued
- Demand dropped nearly 500 MW within first 5 minutes of July 11 conservation window
- Kristi Hobbs, VP of Corporate Strategy & PUC Relations, appeared before PUC's July 14 Open Meeting to discuss initial observations
- Proactive actions taken by ERCOT during hot weather event affirmed its commitment to more conservative operations



Employee Recognition – Operators

Thanks to the following ERCOT employees for their effective work during July's hot weather event:

Dan Woodfin	Greg Guenther	Chad Bryant	Jackie Draper	Joseph Estrada	Scott Bagley	Thinesh Devadhas Mohanadhas
Jimmy Hartmann	Thomas Turner	Christopher Zwierlein	James Justice	June Yanchak	Shauna Maynard	Brandt Vermillion
Jerry Gaddy	Aaron Pugh	Cody Blair	Jason Marcou	Kim Engram	Stan Petrusky	Chris Azeredo
Darrell Cyphers	Alan Thompson	Don Hill	Jerry Douglas	Kris Hancock	Steven Andrews	Cody Mossburg
Brad Dusenberry	Amber Dawn	Frank Rojas III	Jimmy Kim	Mark Skipper	Tamara Drummond-Bunner	Drew Jakala
Bryan Luker	Arden Dean	George Niels	Joey Sario	Mike Mosel	Terry Vogel	Manuel Navarro Catalan
Ed Self	Benjie McKinley	Greg Schwierking	John Gay	Paul Gauntt	Wes Ferrell	Fred Huang
George Lopez	Bobby Gray	Gus Bettge	Jonathon Grotefendt	Peter Downes	Wesley Watkins	Rochie Guiyab
	Bobby Winkler	Ira Smith	Jordan Lee	Rusty Carroll	Zane Robison	

