

Date:February 7, 2017To:Board of DirectorsFrom:Human Resources and Governance (HR&G) Committee ChairSubject:Election of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Ratification of Officers

# Issue for the ERCOT Board of Directors

### **ERCOT Board of Directors Meeting Date:** February 14, 2017 **Item No.:** 14.2

#### Issue:

Election of the CEO and ratification of Officers of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT).

# Background/History:

Sections 8.2 and 4.10(b) and (c) of ERCOT's Amended and Restated Bylaws, as approved on August 17, 2015 (Bylaws), requires that the ERCOT Board of Directors (Board) elect the CEO of ERCOT and ratify the remaining ERCOT Officers for terms not to exceed one year. Section 8.2 further provides that officers may be re-elected or re-ratified for consecutive terms without limitation and that all officers shall hold office until their successors are chosen and qualified or until their earlier resignation or removal. Section 7.1 of the Bylaws provides in part that "[t]he CEO shall serve as President of ERCOT."

At its meeting on February 13, 2017, the HR&G Committee will consider the election of CEO and ratification of Officers as recommended by Bill Magness, ERCOT President and CEO.

#### Key Factors Influencing Issue:

- The Bylaws require the election of the ERCOT CEO and ratification of Officers at least annually.
- ERCOT must have a CEO and Officers to perform its statutory and corporate functions.

# **Conclusion/Recommendation:**

The HR&G Committee will consider recommending whether, at its February 13, 2017 Board meeting, the ERCOT Board should elect Bill Magness as President and CEO of ERCOT, while employed for a term not to exceed one year, and should ratify the following ERCOT Officers for the 2017 year, while employed for a term not to exceed one year:

Jerry Dreyer – Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer; Cheryl Mele – Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer; Steve Daniels – Vice President, Application Services and Information Technology Operations;



Betty Day – Vice President, Governance, Risk & Compliance and Chief Compliance Officer; Theresa Gage – Vice President, External Affairs and Corporate Communications; Kenan Ögelman – Vice President, Commercial Operations; Michael Petterson – Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Woody Rickerson – Vice President, Grid Planning and Operations; Chad Seely – Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary; Diane M. Williams – Vice President, Human Resources; and Vickie Leady – Assistant General Counsel and Assistant Corporate Secretary.



# ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC. BOARD OF DIRECTORS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, pursuant to Sections 8.2 and 4.10(b) and (c) of the Amended and Restated Bylaws of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT), the ERCOT Board of Directors (Board) shall elect the ERCOT Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and ratify other ERCOT Officers for a term while employed not to exceed one year;

WHEREAS, Section 7.1 of the Bylaws provides in part that the ERCOT CEO shall serve as President of ERCOT; and

WHEREAS, the ERCOT Board deems it desirable and in the best interest of ERCOT to elect a President and CEO and ratify other ERCOT Officers for the 2017 year for a term while employed not to exceed one year;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the ERCOT Board hereby elects Bill Magness to serve as ERCOT President and CEO for a term while employed not to exceed one year; and

RESOLVED FURTHER, the ERCOT Board hereby ratifies the following other ERCOT Officers for the 2017 year for a term while employed not to exceed one year:

Jerry Dreyer – Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer; Cheryl Mele – Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer; Steve Daniels – Vice President, Application Services and Information Technology Operations; Betty Day – Vice President, Governance, Risk & Compliance and Chief Compliance Officer; Theresa Gage – Vice President, External Affairs and Corporate Communications; Kenan Ögelman – Vice President, Commercial Operations; Michael Petterson – Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Woody Rickerson – Vice President, Grid Planning and Operations; Chad Seely – Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary; Diane M. Williams – Vice President, Human Resources; and Vickie Leady – Assistant General Counsel and Assistant Corporate Secretary.



# **CORPORATE SECRETARY'S CERTIFICATE**

I, Vickie G. Leady, Assistant Corporate Secretary of ERCOT, do hereby certify that, at its February 14, 2017 meeting, the ERCOT Board passed a motion approving the above Resolution by \_\_\_\_\_.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this \_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2017.

Vickie G. Leady Assistant Corporate Secretary