

DRAFT OPEN SESSION MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL NODAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEETING OF ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC.

7620 Metro Center Drive, Austin, Texas 78744, Room 206 April 19, 2010 at 3:30 p.m.

Pursuant to notice duly given, the meeting of the Special Nodal Program Committee (the Committee) of Electric Reliability Council of Texas Inc. (ERCOT) convened on the above-referenced date.

Meeting Attendance:

Committee Members in Attendance:

Director	Affiliation	Segment
Espinosa, Miguel	Unaffiliated	
Fehrenbach, Nick	City of Dallas	Commercial Consumers
Givens, Sheri	Office of Public Utility	Residential Consumers
	Counsel	
Helton, Bob	International Power	Independent Generators
	America Services	
Patton, A.D.	Unaffiliated	
Ryall, Jean	Constellation Energy	Independent Power Marketers

Other Board Members in Attendance:

Director	Affiliation	Segment
Doggett, Trip	ERCOT	Interim President and Chief Executive
		Officer
Gent, Michehl	Unaffiliated	
Newton, Jan	Unaffiliated	

Staff and Guests:

Blackburn, Don	ERCOT
Bohart, James	ERCOT
Cleary, Mike	ERCOT
Horn, Tim	ERCOT
Iacobucci, Jason	ERCOT
Jefferis, Don	ERCOT
Manning, Chuck	ERCOT
Morgan, Richard	ERCOT
Oehler, Melissa	PUCT
Ogelman, Kenan	CPS Energy
Petterson, Michael	ERCOT



Seibert, Dave	ERCOT
Whittle, Brandon	DB Energy Trading
Wullenjohn, Bill	ERCOT

Call Open Session to Order and Announce Proxies (Agenda Item 1)

Bob Helton, Chairman, called the meeting to order at approximately 3:25 p.m.

Vote on Matters from Executive Session (Agenda Item 7)

The Committee did not convene to an Executive Session.

Approval of March 22, 2010 Minutes (Agenda Item 8)

Nick Fehrenbach moved to approve the March 22, 2010 Open Session minutes. A.D. Patton seconded the motion. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote with no abstentions.

Nodal Program Update (Agenda Item 9)

Mike Cleary, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, provided the Committee with the Nodal Program Update, stating that we were 225 days from go-live and moving into full functionality on May 3, 2010. Mr. Cleary noted that there were currently no apparent system issues warranting spending additional contingency funds at this point. Mr. Cleary stated that a very high proportion of the market participants are qualified and participating in the day ahead and real-time market trials. Dr. Patton noted that two of the 192 Qualified Scheduling Entities (QSEs) have been unresponsive. Mr. Cleary clarified that these two QSEs have withdrawn and would not be participating in the market. Jason Iaccobucci, Nodal Program Manager, provided the integrated Nodal timeline to the Committee. Mr. Iaccobucci additionally provided a summary of the day-ahead market activities. Don Blackburn, Chair Nodal Advisory Task Force, commented that the weekly calls have been suggested. Mr. Iaccobucci also provided the Committee with an overview of the program defects, noting that in the May to June timeframe we could expect to see a decline in defects.

Vikki Gates, ERCOT and Market Participant Readiness Manager, provided the Market Readiness Update, discussing the activities and events expected in the next four months. Ms. Gates commented that the number of QSEs in the market changes, specifically five QSEs had entered the market since the last Committee meeting. Ms. Gates clarified that new QSEs entering the market is one of the reasons why the Nodal 101 and Basic Training programs continue to be offered. Brandon McElfresh, Nodal Metrics Lead, provided the Committee with the scorecard for nine Market Participant metrics and four ERCOT Metrics.

Don Jefferis, Interim Director Nodal Financial Management Office, provided the Nodal Program Financial Review. Mr. Jefferis discussed that direct Program costs for the month of March, 2010 were approximately \$1,100,000 under budget and closed the quarter at \$2,000,000 under budget.



Other Business (Agenda Item 10)

No other business was discussed.

Adjournment (Agenda Item 11)

Chairman Helton adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:59 p.m.

Materials and presentations from the meeting are available on ERCOT's website at <u>http://www.ercot.com/committees/board/snpc/</u>.

Matt Morais Committee Secretary