

# OPEN SESSION MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL NODAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEETING OF ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC.

7620 Metro Center Drive, Austin, Texas 78744, Room 206 November 16, 2009 at 1:00 p.m.

Pursuant to notice duly given, the meeting of the Special Nodal Program Committee (the Committee) of Electric Reliability Council of Texas Inc. (ERCOT) convened on the abovereferenced date.

#### Meeting Attendance:

#### Committee Members in Attendance:

Affiliation Director Segment

Armentrout, Mark Unaffiliated Espinosa, Miguel Unaffiliated

Fehrenbach, Nick City of Dallas **Commercial Consumers** Helton, Bob International Power **Independent Generators** 

America Services

Patton, A.D. Unaffiliated

Ryall, Jean Constellation Energy **Independent Power Marketers** 

Thomas, Robert Green Mountain Energy Independent Retail Electric Providers

Company

#### Other Board Members in Attendance:

Director Affiliation Segment

Office of Public Utility Barker, Laurie Residential Consumers

Counsel

Tenaska Power Services Cox, Brad Independent Power Marketers

Gent, Michehl Unaffiliated Newton, Jan Unaffiliated

Commission Chairman Smitherman, Barry T. Public Utility

Commission of Texas

#### Staff and Guests:

Bohart, James	ERCOT
Cleary, Mike	ERCOT
Day, Betty	ERCOT
Gates, Vikki	ERCOT
Fox, Kip	AEP
Headrick, Bridget	PUCT
Jefferis, Don	ERCOT
Morgan, Richard	ERCOT
Ogelman, Kenan	CPS Energy

November 16, 2009 **ERCOT Public** 



Reid, Walter	Wind Coalition	
Richard, Naomi	LCRA	
Rossero, Nicole	ERCOT	
Seibert, Dave	ERCOT	
Stephenson, Randa	Luminant	
Wullenjohn, Bill	ERCOT	

## Call Open Session to Order and Announce Proxies (Agenda Item 1)

Bob Helton, Chairman, called the meeting to order at approximately 1:04 p.m. and immediately adjourned into Executive Session.

The Open Session was reconvened at approximately 1:15 p.m.

## Vote on Matters from Executive Sessions (Agenda Item 7)

Bob Helton moved to recommend approval of the Executive Session Contract Matter resolution in the Board materials noted as Agenda Item 21a. Mark Armentrout seconded the motion. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote with no abstentions.

#### Approval of October 19, 2009 Minutes (Agenda Item 8)

Nick Fehrenbach moved to approve the October 19, 2009 Open Session minutes. A.D. Patton seconded the motion. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote with one abstention (Mr. Thomas).

### Nodal Program Update (Agenda Item 9)

Mike Cleary, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, provided the Committee with the Nodal Program Update, indicating that Nodal Go-live occurs in approximately 379 days. Mr. Helton expressed his appreciation for the Program progress and being able to see the systems at work as Bill Blevins, Manager of Operations Support and Nodal Transition, provided a Real-Time Energy Management System and Security Constrained Economic Dispatch Demonstration earlier that morning.

Betty Day, Director of Markets, provided the Protocol Traceability Update. Mr. Cleary confirmed that the role of the Nodal Advisory Task Force (NATF) was to serve as an advisory and informational group for the market.

Vikki Gates, ERCOT and Market Participant Readiness Project Manager, provided the Market Readiness Update. Ms. Gates specifically discussed Market Participant site visits and training sessions.

Don Jefferis, Interim Director Nodal Financial Management Office, provided the Nodal Program Financial Review. Mr. Cleary indicated that Mr. Jefferis is an independent contractor who will



be stepping into this role to provide an independent assessment of the budgets. Mr. Jefferis additionally discussed the increase to the contingency fund based upon the Program's on-schedule and under-budget progress.

## Other Business (Agenda Item 10)

No other business was discussed.

## Adjournment (Agenda Item 11)

Chairman Helton adjourned the meeting at approximately 2:38 p.m.

Materials and presentations from the meeting are available on ERCOT's website at <a href="http://www.ercot.com/committees/board/snpc/">http://www.ercot.com/committees/board/snpc/</a>.

Matt Morais

Committee Secretary