

**Date:** March 10, 2009 **To:** Board of Directors

From: Judith James, Reliability Standards Manager, Texas Regional Entity (Texas RE)

Subject: Confirmation of Texas RE Reliability Standards Committee Chair and Vice-chair

### **Issue for the ERCOT Board of Directors**

**ERCOT Board of Director Meeting Date:** March 17, 2009

**Agenda Item No.:** 14

#### **Issue:**

Whether to confirm Rick Keetch (Reliant Energy) as Chair and Paul Johnson (American Electric Power) as Vice-chair of the Texas RE Reliability Standards Committee (RSC) for 2009.

#### **Background/History:**

The current Texas RE RSC Procedure states, "The Standing Representatives of the RSC shall elect a Chair and Vice-chair from the RSC's standing membership for a term of one (1) year on a calendar year basis. The Chair and Vice-chair shall be confirmed by the ERCOT Board of Directors."

# **Key Factors Influencing Issue:**

At the January 12, 2009 meeting of The Texas RE RSC, the members elected the following individuals as Chair and Vice-chair for 2009: Rick Keetch (Reliant Energy) as Chair and Paul Johnson (American Electric Power) as Vice-chair.

#### **Alternatives:**

- 1. Confirm the elections of Rick Keetch as RSC Chair and Paul Johnson as RSC Vice-chair for 2009; or
- 2. Refrain from confirming these individuals and require the RSC to hold new elections.

#### **Conclusion/Recommendation:**

Confirm Rick Keetch (Reliant Energy) as Chair and Paul Johnson (American Electric Power) as Vice-chair of the Texas RE Reliability Standards Committee (RSC) for 2009.



# ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC. BOARD OF DIRECTORS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the Texas Regional Entity (Texas RE) Reliability Standards Committee (RSC) members have elected the following individuals as Chair and Vice-chair for 2009: Rick Keetch (Reliant Energy) as Chair and Paul Johnson (American Electric Power) as Vice-chair; and

WHEREAS, RSC Procedure requires that such elections be confirmed by the Board of Directors (Board) of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT);

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the ERCOT Board hereby confirms Rick Keetch as RSC Chair and Paul Johnson as RSC Vice-chair for the Year 2009.

## **CORPORATE SECRETARY'S CERTIFICATE**

I, Michael G. Grable, Corporate Secretary of ERCOT, do hereby certify that, at its Mar 2009 meeting, the ERCOT Board passed a motion approving the above Resolution by	
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this day of,	2009.
Michael G. Grable Corporate Secretary	