

MEMO

Date:	January 9, 2007
To:	ERCOT Board of Directors
From:	James L. Thorne, VP, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Subject:	Board Ratification of ERCOT Officers

Issue for the ERCOT Board of Directors

ERCOT Board of Director Meeting Date: January 16, 2007

Agenda Item No.: 03

Issue:

<u>The ERCOT Bylaws require annual election or ratification (unless a longer term is selected) of ERCOT Officers (See Section 7.2)</u>

Background/History:

The following officers served as ERCOT Officers in all or part of 2006:

Sam Jones, President and Chief Executive Officer; Steve Byone, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Bill Bojorquez, Vice President of System Planning; Nancy Capezzuti, Vice President of Human Resources; Ray Giuliani, Vice President and Chief of Market Operations; Ron Hinsley, Vice President and Chief Information Officer; Kent Saathoff, Vice President of System Operations; and James Thorne, Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Conclusion/Recommendation:

Pursuant to the ERCOT Bylaws, the Board should ratify the reappointment of the existing ERCOT Officers as follows:

WHEREAS, pursuant to the ERCOT Bylaws dated May 15, 2006, the ERCOT Board of Directors shall annually (unless a longer term is selected) elect or ratify the officers of the corporation;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the ERCOT Board of Directors hereby recognizes the continued service of Sam Jones, as ERCOT's elected President and Chief Operating Officer and recognizes the continued service and ratification of the following officers of ERCOT for the Year 2007:

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Vice President of System Planning
Vice President of Human Resources
Vice President and Chief of Market Operations
Vice President and Chief Information Officer
Vice President of System Operations
Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary