Market Information System Grid and Market Conditions

News Release

September 20, 2011

ERCOT board chair Laura Doll announces plans to leave in 2012

Laura Doll, board chair for the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT), the state grid operator, announced today that she plans to leave the board at the beginning of 2012 to pursue a career opportunity in California. 

Doll, a former executive with the California Public Utilities Commission and the California Power Authority, has served on the ERCOT board since June 2010 and as chair since January 2011.  

"I am accepting a position that will make it difficult to maintain the time commitment necessary to serve the ERCOT board," Doll announced at today’s monthly board meeting and prior to the board’s nominating committee meeting.  "Since the board is currently reviewing candidates for two new independent board members, I wanted the nominating committee to have the opportunity to extend the search for an additional position.   I anticipate leaving in early 2012 but will stay until my board position is filled," Doll said.  

"I have thoroughly enjoyed serving on the board and have the highest respect for the critically important work that ERCOT employees do – with support from the regulators and stakeholders – to make the ERCOT electric market widely recognized as the best in the country," Doll said.  "I have been very impressed with Trip Doggett and the team that he has put together and how well they have responded to the numerous challenges this past year, in addition to how they are preparing for the challenges ahead." 

The nominating committee is currently seeking two candidates – one to replace A.D. Patton who left at the end of his term in May, and another to replace Miguel Espinosa, who is leaving when his term expires in November.    Doll’s announcement allows the board to prepare to fill her vacancy, as well. 

After the nominating committee makes its recommendations, the board will call a corporate membership meeting to approve the nominees, and then will submit to the Public Utility Commission for approval. 

"We are extremely indebted to Laura’s steady leadership during what has been a very eventful year for ERCOT," said CEO Trip Doggett.  "Her executive and leadership training has been invaluable during the critical stabilization period for the nodal market, in ERCOT’s Sunset review in the Texas Legislature, and during the extreme weather events in February and August.  Through all those challenges, Laura’s experience in regulatory, governmental and external affairs, and community relations made her a great asset to the board and ERCOT," Doggett said.   "We appreciate her contributions to ERCOT and wish her well in her new position."  

State law mandates the board include five independent members – unaffiliated with ERCOT market participants – from which the chair and vice-chair are chosen.  Others on the 16-member "hybrid" board include three consumer segment representatives (industrial, commercial and residential); the ERCOT CEO; the Public Utility Commission chair (non-voting); and one representative from each of the six industry segments – investor-owned utilities (or transmission owners), city-owned utilities, cooperatives, generators, power marketers, and retail electric providers. 

Additional information online:
ERCOT Board of Directors

The Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) manages the flow of electric power to more than 26 million Texas customers -- representing about 90 percent of the state’s electric load. As the independent system operator for the region, ERCOT schedules power on an electric grid that connects more than 46,500 miles of transmission lines and 710+ generation units. It also performs financial settlement for the competitive wholesale bulk-power market and administers retail switching for nearly 8 million premises in competitive choice areas.

ERCOT is a membership-based 501(c)(4) nonprofit corporation, governed by a board of directors and subject to oversight by the Public Utility Commission of Texas and the Texas Legislature. Its members include consumers, cooperatives, generators, power marketers, retail electric providers, investor-owned electric utilities, transmission and distribution providers and municipally owned electric utilities.