News Release

    August 11, 2015

    ERCOT General Counsel Bill Magness chosen to succeed Doggett as top executive

    AUSTIN, TX, Aug. 11, 2015 — The ERCOT Board of Directors today selected Bill Magness to become ERCOT’s next president and chief executive officer.

    "Bill’s leadership skills, as well as his significant executive experience at ERCOT, have positioned him to successfully lead ERCOT through an era of evolving changes in the energy industry," ERCOT Board Chair Craven Crowell said. "He also understands the importance of — and is committed to — strong working relationships with stakeholders, the Public Utility Commission of Texas, and the Texas Legislature."

    Current ERCOT President and CEO Trip Doggett announced in June 2015 that he plans to retire in 2016.

    "I am grateful for this opportunity and vote of confidence," Magness said. "I look forward to working with Trip and Chief Operating Officer Brad Jones, as well as our other extremely capable and knowledgeable executive leaders, to develop a transition plan that will pave the way for ERCOT’s continued success in the future."

    Magness currently serves as ERCOT’s general counsel and senior vice president for Governance, Risk and Compliance.


    The Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) manages the flow of electric power to more than 25 million Texas customers -- representing about 90 percent of the state’s electric load. As the independent system operator for the region, ERCOT schedules power on an electric grid that connects more than 46,500 miles of transmission lines and 600+ generation units. It also performs financial settlement for the competitive wholesale bulk-power market and administers retail switching for 7 million premises in competitive choice areas. ERCOT is a membership-based 501(c)(4) nonprofit corporation, governed by a board of directors and subject to oversight by the Public Utility Commission of Texas and the Texas Legislature. Its members include consumers, cooperatives, generators, power marketers, retail electric providers, investor-owned electric utilities, transmission and distribution providers and municipally owned electric utilities.